Vegan city trip to The Hague (Den Haag)

Whenever I plan to  visit a new city, there are only 2 things I check out  in advance for addresses: bookshops and places where I can get vegan food.

In the case of The Hague I got spoiled.

Forks over Knives

First there was the American Book Center. I knew this bookshop from his location in Amsterdam. Although this one isn’t as big, it still had a nice selection of vegan cookbooks. I scored Forks over knives the Cookbook.  I’m one of those persons who believe that your life can’t be complete untill you have all the recipes from Isa Chandra Moskowitz in your house🙂

 

de-vegetarische-slager

After this we were ready for lunch, and of course we wanted to buy something at De Vegetarische Slager (The vegetarian butcher).

I had a ‘Broodje kip met satésaus’ (chicken with peanutsauce). Sorry, no picture.

 

For dessert we got to another place that was very recommended: Baklust.

And oh yes, I had this fabulous vegan cake:

afbeelding020

 

This gave me enough fuel to go for a long walk. Because yes I really wanted to visit the Veggie supermarket: Veggie 4u. Veggie 4UThey promised on their website a fine selection of vegan food. And I wasn’t dissapointed.  I got myself a whole lot of vegan cheeses. Unfortunately most faux meats where frozen. So, we couldn’t take them with us.

After that it was back home. Passing by on the Vegetarian Toko on the way to the railwaystation. Lots and lots of freezers with faux meats.

For dinner we had a break in Antwerp. Close by Centraal Station you find Aahar. A cheap vegetarian Indian restaurant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

