Jerusalem artichokes and broccoli with a curry sauce

Van show my plate

Last week I found for the first Jerusalem artichokes in my vegetable package. A quick internet search gave me a few recipes. Since I’ve never eaten Jerusalem artichokes, I was very curious about their taste. My preference went  to a recipe where I could taste the pure Jerusalem artichokes. Hence this simple menu:

# 250 g Jerusalem artichokes
# 1 broccoli
# 2 dl water
# vegan butter
# 1 clove of  garlic
# Salt, pepper
# 1 tbsp soy sauce
# 1 Tbsp curry
# 50 g nutritional yeast flakes
# 1 Tbsp flour

Clean the Jerusalem artichokes by taking the earth away. For this I used my mushroom brush after that I washed them with water.
Cut the Jerusalem artichokes into slices of about 1 to 2 cm.
Divide the broccoli into florets.
Boil the vegetables together in water with a knob of butter and salt until just tender.
Pour this boiling water into a saucepan, add the flour and bring to a boil while stirring.
If the sauce start to thicken,  add the nutritional yeast flakes, curry, crushed garlic, soy sauce and pepper.  Keep stirring.

I served this with millet.

Conclusion: we, the adults, liked the taste of  the Jerusalem artichokes, the 15-year-old didn’t like them at all. The curry sauce could have been a lot spicier. All together, this was to sober for us.

With the leftovers I made a soup the following day.  I added carrots and onions. The whole soup was a bit boosted up with cayenne pepper.  I also added some soy creamer. This soup was super tasty.

6 comments

  1. This looks awesome! Are Jerusalem artichokes the same as sunchokes? We got the latter in our basket this week, and I can’t wait to use them! I’m thinking about mashing them up with a potato.

Leave a Reply

