Salsifies in a vegan white sauce

 Again I had a vegetable with my subscription that I had never prepared before.  And again I had to look up for an translation in English.  But now I found out that it had this funny name: salsifies.  Believe me, it sounds way better in english than the dutch word (schorseneren).

Van TofuParty sides

I didn’t find a vegan recipe for it but I knew that one of the typical flemish ways to make them is with a white sauce:

Salsifies in a vegan white sauce

  • +- 5 salsifies
  • 1 dl oatcream
  • 1 tbsp balsamico vinegar
  • 1 tsp grated lemon zest
  • 1 tsp dille
  • salt & pepper
  1. Peel the salsifies, cut them in pieces of 3-5 cm and boil them in salted water (more or less 20 min).
  2. Put all the other ingredients together, mix them well and whip it up a little bit.  You really don’t need to do this part with a machine.
  3. Now add your white sauce to your still warm salsifies.

One comment

  1. It’s reallly hard work to prepare these, right? When I made salsify for the first time, I also didn’t find a good recipe for them. Your white sauce sounds really delicious.

Leave a Reply

