Red cabbage and mashed potatoes (Veganmofo, no. 8)

This time I want to show a typical flemish meal or maybe not totally typical.  Because a typical flemish dish consist of a boiled vegetable, boiled potatoes and a piece of a dead animal.   I had to eat that 6 days in a week for almost 18 years.  At 18 I became a vegetarian and started to cook for myself.  And discovered a whole new world. Around that time I swore I would never make a normal flemish meal in my life.  So now when my family asks for a normal typical flemish dish, I still would never use plain boiling for preparing my food.

Instead I mash my potatoes and saute my red cabbage with some apple-juice.  Tastes great this way:

Red cabbage and mashed potatoes
Red cabbage and mashed potatoes

 

And in the middle a tofu-sausage.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

