Haunted by 222

Yes, since I’m back from London I’m haunted.  It seems I can’t forget this delicious restaurant called 222 and I just knew I wouldn’t find any rest till I tried to replicate one of their dishes.  What else could I do then take the one I had so much enjoyed:  Broccolini Di Parma.

This is the description of the dish:

Fresh pancakes stuffed with tofu cottage cheese, broccoli, and pimento sauce, re-baked drawing out the fine flavour. Served with sautéed baby potatoes.

Watch my result:
Haunted by 222 filled pancakesHaunted by 222 filled pancakes2

This is how I did it:

PANCAKES ( 8 to 10)

Make a batter with: 200 g selfraising flour, 4 tbs chickpeaflour, salt, 2.5 dl soymilk, 1 dl water and 2 tbs olive-oil

Let the batter rest for one hour. And bake, you probably know how.

RICOTTA:

Crumble tofu with your hands (I really like doing that) and add some nutritional yeast flakes (to your own taste), some soy-cream and salt

Cashew Pimiento Cheese Sauce:

For this I used a recipe I found on the internet.  It’s all over the net so I guess people wouldn’t mind if I show it here too:

1 cup raw cashews
2-3 tablespoons lemon juice
2 teaspoons onion powder
2-1/2 cups water
4 oz jar of pimientos
2 teaspoons of salt
1/8 teaspoon of garlic powder

Whiz above ingredients in blender until smooth.

Stir the pimiento sauce in the ricotta.

After this you can saute/boile/stir-fry (whatever you like) some broccoli.

Voila, your ready to fill and serve your pancakes.

And they were almost as good as the ones in 222.

5 comments

  1. Wow, beautiful blog you have here!
    And you were in London? Lucky you! I have been dreaming of the UK very intensely lately…
    Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’ll keep looking around yours🙂

  2. Those look amazing!!!
    Wow, totally impressive. I admit to skipping 222 last weekend, just couldn’t fit 222 and Mildred’s both in to the one day….but our next trip home we are going to hit the Kennsington area and will be able to head to 222 for sure. In the mean time I will just drool over your dishes.

  3. Veggie 222 is one of my favorite places to eat at in London.
    I was in the UK for 2 weeks last year and managed to eat there twice.
    The owner Ben is such a nice man.
    Be sure and try to go at lunchtime – they do a great buffet.

Leave a Reply

