Salad bar

This week something funny happened.  On tuesday-evening I left a message on the answering machine of a friend: “Please, can we borrow your ladder?”.  Now answer came till wednesday-afternoon I found this message on my answering-machine:  “Yes, we love to come over for diner this evening.  What time do you expect us?”

Euh!?!?!? 

Suddenly, I had to cook for 7 people, including 3 teenagers and a kid.  And it was so hot that day.  Luckely I found my solution very fast and decided to go for some salads:

Clockwise from left below:

Sweet pepper & basil potato salad from Vegan Vittles

Dressing:  a mix of tofunaise, soy-cream, oil and apple-cider-vinegar

Plain lettuce and cumcumber

Spicy tempeh and broccoli rabe with rotelle from Veganomicon

Tabbouleh: couscous, tomatoes, chickpeas, broad beans, spring onions, lemon, mint

This way there was something for everyone.

3 comments

  1. It all looks really yummy! Did you use a recipe for the soymayonaise or did you purchase it??
    And…did I read your entry right? Is it HOT in Belgium? When we left two weeks ago it was only 12 degrees…and it is stifling here in Italy…I was hoping that it was still cool and comfortable in Belgium….maybe it won’t be too hot when I get back next weekend.

    Great photos by the way.

Leave a Reply

