A meeting with ‘Pure vegetarian’

Standard

Before I start with my first review I have to confess something. I’m addicted to cookbooks (and food blogs). Mostly the vegan ones, but I like my vegetarian ones too. And even the non-veggies. In my mind I see the meat and fish replaced by faux food.
For this I have two reasons. First: a good cookbook means also a lot of inspiration and tips and tricks. Most of them also contain vegan recipes of recipes that can be easily veganised. In the reviews I will add if a non vegan book is of any use for vegans.
The second reason is that I’m writing the reviews also for my dutch blog. There are only a few dutch vegan cookbooks. So, for people who aren’t familiar with english cookbooks I thought it would be a good idea to point to vegan recipes or adapted recipes in non-vegan cookbooks.

In short: most reviews will be vegan books, but sometimes you will find a non-vegan or even a non-veggie.

All reviews will be collected on my new page.

(By the way, I don’t own any non veggie books. These are all borowed. I would never go that far.)

PURE VEGETARIAN

by Paul Gayler

Kind of book?

General Vegetarian

Beginner, intermediate, challenging?

Particular:

Vegetarian recipes from an UK chef.

Combination of worldfood and english ingredients.

Chapter on working with dough.

Has a few raw recipes.

 Easy vegan?

Contains a lot of vegan recipes or recipes that are easily veganised.  Although the recipes with cheese ask mostly for a special kind of cheese that would not be easy replaced.

The looks:

Like a typical famous chef cookbook: beautiful pictures, organized, nice lay-out, stylish, …

Good points

- Introduction with every recipe

- New and unusual ingredients combination.

- Recipes very well written.

- Uses not only the fancy vegetables.

- Not for everyday cooking but lots of inspiration.

- Index by ingredients

Bad points

- In the dutch translation of the book I found some mistakes in the recipes.

- Lots of ingredients and a few difficult to find ingredients (= in Belgium)

Success story’s

Only two recipes tried yet:

walnut risotto*

vegetable stefado with spinach and tomato keftedes*

Recipes I really want to try in the future

Steamed Eastern rolls*

Mee krob

My fusion noodles*

Polenta with sweet potatoes and Asian vegetable fricassée*

Pearavioli with saffronbuttersauce and salad of beetroot with truffle*

Tagliatelli with caramelized chicory and fried lemon peel*

Penne with spicy eggplant and sauce from black beans and peanuts*

More information

Pure Vegetarian: Modern and Stylish Vegetarian Cooking

by Paul Gayler

Photography by Gus Filgate

Published by Kyle Cathie Ltd.

192 pages, 2006

*Own translation as I used the Dutch translated book.

Pin It